Ludovico Einaudi

Le Onde

Who could have predicted Ludovico Einaudi’s success in a time when contemporary music was a pleasure for a few and piano-only albums were considered far from the tastes of record buyers? Le Onde was first published in 1996 but in 2019 Einaudi proposed and released a more current version. It is the artistic effort thanks to which the Italian composer made himself known to the public, a piano ballad cycle inspired by the homonymous novel by Virginia Wool from 1931, thirteen subtly appealing and meditative toned compositions.

«If this record was a story», writes Einaudi on the cover’s credits, «it would take place on the promenade of a long beach. A beach without end or beginning. The story of a man that walks along this shore and maybe he doesn’t ever meet anyone. His gaze sometimes lingers on some object or fragment carried to shore by the tide, on some crab tracks, a lone seagull. The landscape is always the sand, the sky, a few clouds, the sea. Only the waves ever change, always the same but always different, smaller, larger, shorter, longer».


1. “Canzone popolare (1500 ca.)” 0:57
2. “Le onde” 4:55
3. “Lontano” 4:49
4. “Ombre” 5:23
5. “La linea scura” 4:53
6. “Tracce” 3:57
7. “Questa notte” 5:10
8. “Sotto vento” 7:02
9. “Dietro l’incanto” 4:46
10. “Onde corte” 3:22
11. “La profondità del buio” 3:52
12. “Passaggio” 4:46
13. “L’ultima volta” 4:24

  • Share